Capitol Works

This morning we took a uber (with a most entertaining driver) to the George Washinton Monument, the tallest tower in the city, hoping for a birds eye view.
Unfortunately although we arrived at 10:30, there were no tickets left for the day.

Still it was probably a good thing as we went straight on to the American history section of the Smithsonian where we could have spent many more hours than we had available.
I skipped lunch rather than forgo 20 minutes of valuable time by eating.

We needed to leave by 1:30 to walk down to the Capitol where I had pre-booked tickets from Australia.
As it was we got there in plenty of time and they let us in early. It had more security than an airport - I couldn't even take my camera into the House of Reps section :-(

The dome is currently covered in scaffolding for maintenance and I was bit surprised to find just as much again inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.