Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Lining up for a pint

..no, that title is grossly unfair - though the section of building you can see far right is that well-know Winchester hostelry, The Bishop on the Bridge!

This morning, The Adjutant General's Corps, led by the Band and Bugles of the Rifles, exercised their right of Freedom of Entry to the City (Winchester) with a march down the High Street to the Broadway.  Our Lady Mayoress, looking pretty glam in her official red dressing gown, took the salute (is that the expression?), exchanged politenesses with the Chief Spud and gave a short speech.  After which everyone marched off to the cathedral for a service and the buses were allowed to start running again.

I had thought this happened every year, but learned from a charming young Military Policeman that it only happens every 7 years or so.  And I'd got up early especially for blip.  See what gold dust I bring you?

And yes, I am really beginning to feel better - phew! -  if a touch wobbly.  I have turned my comments back on.  Thank you all for being so lovely while I've been hors de combat!   xx

(have just put in an extra in colour for those of you who like - the colours were really quite nice for such a grey day)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.