feefifofum

By feefifofum

Bruges

How to pick one photo for such a beautiful city? I think that is going to be a mega problem for inter-rail blips! We arrived in Bruges late off the train, and I have to say I am so glad I spent the extra ten euros and went  for the budget hotel by the station rather than the youth hostel in the town. For one the hotel was actually really nice, it's private, with our own toilet and shower and I really didn't fancy the walk!
We started off the day with a pretty riverside wander into the town for breakfast bagels and mocha's. Oh my days. Best mocha I will probably have in my life. Melted Belgian chocolate with hot milk and lovely espresso, that chocolate - it was something else! It was well received as we had weather that reminded me of Scotland, lovely sunshine that quickly turns to pouring rain which then turns to hail...what?! Can't say we're not used to it but I had hoped for better from the continent! 
Bruges itself is lovely, yes it's quite twee, but I loved that! I loved the little streets and pretty waterside houses, stone churches and the canals with their bridges. I didn't love the fact that there was literally raw sewage flowing down the streets and it smelt like a public toilet but hey, that's Belgium for you. Also...don't drink the tap water, for exactly that reason. 
We managed to fit in plenty of wandering, some lunch, a boat trip, Belgian waffles (how could you not?), frites, sheltering under trees from the hail (!) and a lot of photo taking. Definitely not a restful sort of holiday, but I wouldn't have it any other way! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.