It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Bonkers

It was prize giving for the Celtman today.

This is Scott "Bonkers" Balfour, one of my all-time sporting heroes! He'd finished yet another Ironman distance event....goodness knows how many he's done now! I think this was one of his toughest though and he'd had to dig very deep!

Scott's special to me because he introduced me to the world of triathlon. He also encouraged me, gave me advice and shared a lane with me when we swam with Hearts! I made some great friends in the world of triathlon, quite a few of whom I met at the weekend, and the sport started me off on the path towards my current career.

People like Scott are the lifeblood of sport because they see the potential in everyone, regardless of ability. A wee word here and a bit of encouragement there really does change lives for the better.

Anyway, enough of the sentimental crap! After a long weekend around Torridon, we headed back to Edinburgh via the Mountain Cafe in Aviemore. Gutted....they are famous for their cake and I chose one that was just ok! We made it all the way back to Edinburgh safely, but as we approached the big roundabout in at the end of Ferry Road, the clutch cylinder snapped and we were stranded 2 miles away from home.....until the AA arrived.

It wasn't all bad as R ordered Pizza, with a capital P, from La favorita, the best pizza shop in Edinburgh! Yumeeee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.