Whitby Abbey

Sunday 25th Oct 2015  (1156)

A relaxing afternoon and evening yesterday and an extra hour in bed did me the world of good. Woke to some lovely sunshine so Mum and I decided to make the most of my last day. We had a lovely drive across the North Yorkshire Moors to Whitby. 

First stop was the Abbey and it was good to have a wander around. This shot took a bit of patience to wait for people to get out of the way! After a good couple of hours on the hill we took the car down into the town. I was amazed at the number of people there, the place was heaving! 

We enjoyed a fish and chip lunch in the warmth of a restaurant and then a little walk along the quay. We decided to take a half hour boat trip on the old lifeboat, which was quite relaxing, I've never sailed on a lifeboat before. 

Back on dry land we wandered along the front, then I decided that as we were having a seaside day we needed to go in the amusements. We had 50p of fun on the roulette, which took me back to my childhood and lasted a little while as we kept winning, and then a game of mini ten pin bowling ... oh, and we managed a doughnut as well because it was too cold for ice cream! A good, fun afternoon. 

It was a lovely day out to finish my holiday, pity it has come to an end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.