South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Cheers!

A really good day spent with my Dad today sharing the family tree information. I wrote it all out for him so that he can look at it at leisure using his big magnifying machine, and also read the details out to him. I also helped him with some things he wanted written down and decided to sort a small box that was in a cupboard. You wouldn't believe it - I found an old newspaper cutting, which was an article about my grandmother's wedding in 1923. It even gave the materials and colours of the bridesmaids' dresses. I also found, in the same envelope the death notices for my grandfather who died in 1955 (at exactly the same age as I am now - 61). All the other men in the family are long lived - living well into their eighties even in Victorian times. My Dad, of course, is now ninety himself. We both agreed that it was strange that I came across these things at the time we were looking at the family tree! My Mum had a habit of popping things in envelopes or boxes and never finding the time to sort them further!

The photo is of a glass of wine that I enjoyed following our return back home from Dad's after the enjoyable day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.