wsjohnson

By wsjohnson

upon reflection

So, if given the impression that attending and enjoying the rugby was not exactly my experience saturday, then I was mistaken. I did in fact enjoy myself (couldn't exactly see what the hell was going on and the folk about me had waaay too much to drink for them to enjoy themselves, but I digress) - then again, perhaps, and in fact I'm sure, that was their way of enjoying themselves!

The All-Blacks are a perplexing team, playing as they are against both history (their own) preconceived notions (the public's) and of course the other team. I'm beginning to believe that may be a bit much to deal with on a daily (or match-by-match) basis

Still, I headed over to William Hill on my way here and placed £100 on the AB's over the Aussies - I may be contemplative regarding the mystique of the team, but your boy ain't stupid -

Sutton stop on the British Waterways system is a very sweet place to sit and "think", and so for a few hours earlier, I did. The housing estate on the other side of the canal, is semi-upmarket and the Greyhound Inn (located behind me here, not seen by you) a decent if not downright "homey" (that could be too American a description actually) pub

Oh, a bit of (useless) trivia for you: 18 miles that way, is the town and school that are the ancestral home of the game they seem to have mastered in the southern hemisphere: Rugby

Oh, and yes, "Her Lewis" . . . . 'nuff said

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.