Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

The Grandparents

Today I went down to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, to see "The Wave", or the poppies from the Tower of London. I was amazed just how busy the place was. I don't think I've ever seen it quite that crowded before. 

But my blip, for MonoMonday, are the grandparents from Barbara Hepworth's, The Family, which stand on the hillside near the main centre. For many families, the grandparents are our living origins, as children we look to our Grandparents for the signs of where we come from and what shaped our family. Mine have all passed on now, two grandfather's both died during wartime (one drowned at sea during the Battle of the Atlantic, and the other in a training accident). One gran died when I was four, the other when I was pregnant with my eldest child. But they remain part of our history, and, like Hepworth's family, still stand behind us, if a little more detached than they once were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.