DawnAgain

By DawnAgain

Lost

When I parked at the common this morning I saw this dog hanging around. I noticed that he was collarless and somewhat emaciated. When I approached him he whimpered and backed off, his tail between his legs. I wasn't sure I'd be able to catch him so I took a picture to have a record of him. He then ran off down the lane and out of sight. I got Basil and Polly out of the car and we set off through the gate to the path which runs parallel to the lane. At this point we saw Basil Junior and Annabelle coming over the ridge so we waited for them and filled them in.

A while later we bumped into some other dog walkers and asked them to keep an eye out for the missing dog. Then, further along, I spotted three girls and two dogs, one of which appeared to be the missing dog. We went over and it transpired that the dog had just latched on to them. Anyway, Annabelle managed to get the lost dog on Basil Junior's lead and we set off back to the car with four dogs in tow. As we walked away from them one of the girls called out that they had named the dog Vincent.

So we took Vincent to the vet's (he sat on Annabelle's lap in the front while the other three went in the boot) where they checked if he was microchipped (he wasn't) and then rang the dog warden who said he'd collect him at lunch time. We said goodbye to Vincent - it was already a bit of a wrench - and he was taken out the back to have some food and a rest in a kennel while he waited.

I hope Vincent's story has a happy ending. He has such a nice temperament and he'd make someone a lovely pet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.