JasonE

By JasonE

A Childhood hero.

Another Sunday, another trip up to Silverstone. This time for a trackday with some serious metal on show, running alongside an auction for.. you guessed it, Porsches.

Anyone who knows me, will know my odd love for Porsches. It seems in the past few years they've become the "In Thing" and prices have gone through the roof. This is annoying for me, as half the attraction of the brand was they were Dream cars, however somehow still in reach.

If there was any particular Porsche I've always loved, its one of these. The 993 GT2. A car often dubbed "The Widow Maker", it was conceived due to GT homologation rules. Essentially, it was based on a Turbo. However it had more boost, wider arches and bigger wings at each end. Couple this with a stripped out interior, bucket seats and a roll cage, and you pretty much have a race car for the road. I just love the way it looks, sounds, and has the ability to kill you if you start taking liberties with it.

This particular example is owned by instagram user @maxige78. A lovely bloke who knows my friend Luke fairly well, so didn't mind pulling this into the garage for some decent pictures. This particular example is technically a replica. A previous owner gave Porsche a 911 Turbo , and told them to make it a GT2. So whether thats a replica, or a factory upgrade, I'm not so sure.

Either way, I took millions of pictures of it and much more interesting stuff for people to look at on my flickr. As ever, my instagram is often spammed with cars @jasoneaston.

FLICKR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.