Rodents rule

By squirk

Outlet, 2015

It's been a day of art. Fred and I hopped on the bus to the Tate Britain for the early members-only viewing of Barbara Hepworth's works. It's the last weekend of the exhibition and I'd forgotten about it until Teresa reminded me. I'm really pleased that I went – her pieces are beautiful and inspiring. Nosy me particularly loved the photographs in her albums and spotting the works of art in the pictures in the gallery round about. There's a certain something about being in the presence of an object that is seen to have a history.

Later in the day, we trotted down the road to the Portico Gallery for the Feast Film Night showing of Downtown 81, featuring struggling artist Jean Michel Basquiat. His painted work flowed effortlessly across the walled canvasses of downtown New York. The slide show before the film and music from Effra Sound helped us step back into the early 80s. I read an essay recently that explored the creativity that was born in the ruins of industrial landscapes in inner cities in the late 70s/early 80s. This film led on from where the essay left off. I don't see so many industrial ruins these days. They're being mopped up by, mainly, property developers around here.

When we got home, we discovered that the film Pollock had only a couple of hours left on Mubi. (If you don't know about Mubi, I'll explain: the site releases a film a day and subscribers have a month to watch it – the film's are quite eclectic but usually enjoyable.) Seeing as we were in an arty mood, we had several cups of tea and settled down to watch film number two. I wished I'd watched it before going to see the Pollock exhibition a while ago. It was fascinating. A great film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.