Kina shell macro

First of all a big thank you to everyone who has helped me celebrate my 500th blip. It has been a real pleasure to get the hearts and stars you threw at me with gay abandon. I believe I have climbed the popular page to a very heady height. I feel quite giddy. I forgot to look before getting on to the next challenge.
I celebrated by putting a new profile photo up.  Taken by blipmate Lizellen who has helped me tremendously by sharing her knowledge of photography and going on blip trips.

Now to todays Tiny Tuesday image. A macro of a part kina shell taken with +10 macro filter. The kina is considered a delicacy by some although I am not a fan myself. The spines come in all sizes and from all directions and are quite sharp. You can see the grains of sand from when it lay washed up on the beach or was cut open and eaten by someone. The grey sand of Stephens Bay.
Two extras give a better idea of the oval shape and how the flesh was attached to the shell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.