What's not to love?

I've been a bit envious of Jen (Newcastle Downunder) lately, because she's been blipping these delightful little jumping spiders.  And today I found one of my very own, in the garden while I was out there working.  See, there is an upside to weeding!

I don't know if this is the same species as Jens, seeing that we are in South Australia and she is in New South Wales.  But to be honest I don't much care - I'm just so happy to have seen one with my very own eyes.

It caught the sunlight, otherwise I wouldn't have seen it, and it seemed to be spun gold.  The macro lens shows it to be covered in a mass of hairs.

They have such personalities (can spiders have personalities?  I guess they can).  This little one was really working hard for its dinner.  In extras I have a shot which is absolute crap, but it shows the spider about to catch one of those horrid red spider mites.  The size of the mite is a pin head I guess, and the spider is about the size of half of my little finger nail.

Really worth looking at in large.  I love the eye makeup!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.