MadeInKendal

By MadeInKendal

The Vow

Thinking about the wedding of a close friend to her bestfriend, that I was not able to attend this weekend...

Vow - Roger McGough

I vow to honour the commitment made this day,
Which, unlike the flowers and the cake
Will not wither or decay. A promise not to obey
But to respond joyfully, to forgive and to console,
For once incomplete, we are now whole.

I vow to bear inundated that if, at times,
Things seem to go from bad to worse,
They also go from bad to better.
The lost purse is handed in, the letter
Contains wonderful news. Trains run on time,
Hurricanes run out of breath, floods subside,
And toast lands jam-side up.

And with this ring, my final vow:
To recall, whatever the future may bring,
The love I feel for you now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.