The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Kingsbury Water Park

Another Wednesday trip to the Midlands on family business  - this time, among other things, to organise a memorial bench in Kingsbury Water Park.

What I thought would be a ten-minute walk from the Dog and Doublet to the Information Centre actually took an hour via the footpath, as the centre was in an entirely different place to where I thought it was. It began with a walk along the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal towpath and then along a track to an entry gate, where the centre wasn't.

By way of compensation, however, were two clutches of goslings of different ages on the grass beside the path I had walked up. I have spent the last few months going to popular Canada goose hangouts hoping to see some, but these were the first I had found. As I left the path to get close-ups of the chicks I got hissed at by the parents, but they shifted away rather than towards me, and anyway in the end I preferred this group shot showing one of the lakes behind them. There were swans close to the bank that are just out of range, even in Large, but one can be seen in the alternative below.

It turned out to be a further mile along a circular track, during which I had to pass obstructions and encounted a narrow guage railway I hadn't known were there.

When I had concluded my business the ranger Steve very kindly gave me a lift back to the pub. By road it was no distance at all.

As I drove back to Sutton Coldfield I stopped to meet three miniature ponies in a field near the corner of Holly Lane and Lindridge Road, and they detained me for some while.
L.
26.6.2012

Blip #744
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #818

Alternatives:
Swan And Geese
Ponies

A Trip To The Midlands, 20 June 2012 (Flickr album of 32 images)

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm


Family Business series
Bodymoor Heath series

One year ago: River Dove At Tutbury

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.