These Greys Really Do Lag Behind

At mid afternoon I left for Fishers Green. My heart sank when I saw the car park, it was nearly full. I had intended to visit the Bittern Hide but didn't fancy it full of the little darlings on half-term.

I decided instead to walk to the Grand Weir hide. I passed the Goosefield and that was living up to its name. Canada, greylag and Egyptian geese were grazing en masse in the sunshine. 

I had the Grand Weir to myself. I didn't go in but stood on the elevated walkway overlooking Holyfield Lake. I watched as small flock after flock of Canada geese took off, with much honking, for their roosting grounds until there wasn't any left.

A sizeable flock of greylags was congregating near the willows in water turned pink by the weak setting sun.  All of a sudden they took to the air. I've captured them as they're passing the Lee Valley Viewpoint. I like to walk up there and pick out St Paul's, The London Eye etc. 

It is said that the greylag goose got its name because it lags behind other geese at migration time. They certainly lagged behind the Canadas going to roost. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.