Those were the days, my friend

We stopped at Thrifty's for a newspaper before heading to the ferry to go to Vancouver Island.  These two were standing by the exit and I took a quick shot of them.   I'm guessing they were on their way to school.  We were on our way to meet a group of old friends for lunch in Crofton, and they reminded me of all the teenagers I taught over the years and what fun I had in the classroom, teaching and learning from kids like these.  Those were the days!
And what fun we had at lunch!   A rowdy bunch!  We reminisced about the good times we had when we were young teachers in Prince George - we've known all but one of them for nearly 40 years.  Nice that we live near enough to each other to get together a couple of times a year.  One of the guys is like our social convenor, emails us and makes all the arrangements for us to meet.  We hadn't seen one man since we left PG in 1987, so it was great to reconnect with him and meet his wife.  A great way to spend an afternoon, laughing and catching up.  Those were the days, my friends!  These two young guys in the photo will be looking back on these days in years to come.
Title from the song Those were the days, my friend by Mary Hopkins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.