Memories of "Morning Magazine"

(the magazine that I produced for my family over a period of 7 years; these illustrations were from its heyday 50 years ago)

I drew some dancers clapping.
I can almost hear the band:
my 1960s' country dancers,
spinning, hand in hand.

I'd sometimes draw 'A Page of People',
standing in a line;
at other times – mid-action –  
'A People Scene' I'd sign.

Some days I'd illustrate a verse
or poem of my own.
(I view them now as someone else's
art, though mine alone.)

I'd notice tiny details,
which side boys would part their hair;
jackets buttoned girl's or boy's way;
hairstyles dark or fair.

A scout, a nurse, a choir boy,
with badges: careful art;
identical twins with one small 
difference, telling them apart.

Each fashion page was colourful;
the funniest, though, was one
that offered latest fashions
for the nurse and – yes! – the nun!

I drew them often in my paper,
'Morning Magazine'.
For seven years I brought it out,
though only ever seen

and read by family members,
who'd try each competition,
but now they're old and faded
far from new condition.

My parents carefully saved them,
every copy. Now my plan's
to save them electronically,
which takes a lot of scans.

The process eats a lot of time,
and up I cannot speed it (!)
cos every issue I pick up,
I stop and sit and read it.

Spelling errors? Lots! – but, oh,
what fun it must have been.
I clearly loved producing every
'Morning Magazine'!

poem © Celia Warren 2015
pictures © Celia Barker 1965

Spent much of today sorting, scanning and saving the odd sample. It's as much as I could manage as I've an upset tummy (day 2 of) and the onset of a cold (also day 2 of)! At least the sun shone through the window ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.