Peahen

By Peahen

Best laid plans

I wanted to go back to the waterside to get the second set of photos for a series of 3 showing time and tide. The weather forecast said dry. Outside said uh-oh. My sister gave me a lift down through the driving rain. Spring tide weather, she said. She wasn't wrong. Just for once the waterfront was uncluttered by cars - it was flooded and there was still another 15minutes before high tide. The quay, which I took yesterday's image from, was well under water with energetic waves breaking over it. I couldn't safely get back to yesterday's vantage point without risking at the very least dry trousers and the worst much more. So I took a few from about 6 inches depth of river water, then went down the pier which although submerged was less submerged and at least has railings all the way down. So we're crooked, I need to do more work on careful composing of geometry in the rain and wind. But I can live with this. Two more potential tidal shots tomorrow - one early in what the Met Office assure me will be "light rain" and one at lunch time for low tide. In daylight. I cannot wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.