DON'T DELAY, CHECK TODAY

My contribution to Breast Cancer Awareness Month is far too close for comfort.

Three weeks ago I went to my GP because something felt "wrong". A couple of months of constant itching inside and out of the left breast and a slight graininess but not much else. She couldn't really find anything but didn't dismiss it, said "you know your body better than anyone else" and referred me for more checks. Last week I had a mammogram, ultrasound and a biopsy and everyone at the clinic said they couldn't really pinpoint anything, but "you know your body better than anyone else" and there might be an "area of concern". Today/yesterday/Thursday, I went back for results and yes there's a little cancerous tumour in there. Very early, very small, very self-contained and very treatable. Within two hours I'd been explained to, counselled, booked in for day-surgery in just over a fortnight (lumpectomy), x-rayed, ECG-ed, and had all the pre-assessment checks. I cannot tell you how high an opinion I have of everyone concerned at the breast clinic in our local hospital (which, apart from anything else, is less than a mile from home), my GP, and the NHS which this government is shamelessly trying to dismantle.

So, ladies (and gents, too, because it can happen to you). Listen to your instincts. You know your own body better than anyone else. Don't delay.

xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.