Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hunter, Gatherer

The conveyer belt of grubs and worms heading for the blackbird nest is in full operation, a sure sign that the chicks have hatched. I have still not approached the bush to get a closer look for fear of disturbing the family.

I only wish the local squirrels were as considerate. I have watched with fascination as they climb along the top of the fence adjacent to the branch used by the parents to enter the bush. The next thing you know there is a flurry of feathers and fur as the parents fly in and literally knock the squirrel off the fence. It happened on three occasions I saw yesterday. Despite having the camera trained on the same spot today, I didn't see it happen again.

Maybe Mr Squirrel has learnt his lesson!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.