... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

N is for Natural History Museum

A rather random shot today... This is not a photo with which I'm thrilled, but I didn't take many pictures today, and I'm not sure whether I am allowed to blip the ones I prefer.

Today was an atypical day at work: I played table tennis at lunchtime which was great fun, and the computer system I need to use was offline for maintenance this afternoon so I visited a colleague who showed me what her job involves... She is currently imaging lichens which involves using a(n über-smart) medium format digital camera to take an "overall" image of the specimen, and then a detail shot at much higher magnification. I took quite arty pictures of her using the setup, but on reflection we decided that it might be frowned upon to show the detail of the equipment being used; the security is high, but NHM might not appreciate its kit being advertised shown online... Needless to say, I am very jealous of the equipment she gets to use.

The other pictures I liked were snaps that I took on my way out of an underground station; I suddenly felt slightly nervous and wondered whether there might be rules about taking photographs in or around stations... Perhaps I'm paranoid about the H&S/terrorism-suspecting world we live in; does anyone know if there are any specific rules when it comes to public transport and photography?

So, this shot of the NHM through its rather satisfying logo/sign will have to do for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.