Transience

I took several pictures of this smartly-dressed man as he strode towards me and I remember only him glowering in what I read as an overly self-assured way. So I was surprised to find among my pictures this slightly fragile image where he is focusing inward and not on his exterior.
 
It’s a reminder to me not to judge from what I see at first, second or third glance. And evidence, which is making me reflect, that I am much more drawn to the obviously vulnerable than to those showing a hard surface even when I know that that might be masking vulnerability.
 
I was actually out, as I was yesterday, photographing enormous ’islands’ of leaves in the river created by the currents in a way I’ve never previously seen. Some had moved from yesterday but those in the mouths of tributaries were still held by the backwash of the faster-flowing Thames. But once again the ‘island’ photos have been ousted. One as an extra.


For those who kindly wanted to know the outcome of my interview on the day I raced back from Birmingham, I started a part-time job in an organisation working with asylum seekers and refugees this week. Very happy so far. The BBC visited today (report from 30 seconds in to 3 minutes 15).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.