Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flower Friday: Stars and Flowers

"May the stars carry your sadness away,
May the flowers fill your heart with beauty,
May hope forever wipe away your tears,
And, above all, may silence make you strong"

Chief Dan George (1899 - 1981)


An origami star which I made this afternoon from some pretty flower-themed paper.

A fun morning catching up with my ex-fiancé, who I'm still friends with, over coffee and pastries.  I hadn't seen him in person since before Dad died, but he doesn't change much in either appearance or positive outlook on life.  He taught me to fly gliders 25 years ago, and I was the first student he sent solo.  Although I went on to gain a Private Pilot's Licence flying powered aircraft, sadly I will never be able to fly as pilot-in-charge again due to developing unpredictable ocular migraines a few years after I took up flying.  I don't suffer a headache with them, but my vision is obscured for up to half an hour which would prevent me from keeping a safe lookout for other aircraft.  They don't occur in a regular pattern and I've never been able to work out what, if anything, triggers them.  But at least I can still fly with other pilot friends if I want to get in the air, which is some consolation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.