Halloween Beetle

This is a Rose Chafer (Cetonia aurata). I found him/her upturned and set her on some leaves in the sun, planning on blipping her yes, but also thinking she might snuggle down and hibernate in the leaves. According to my Garden Wildlife book however, the larvae develop in decaying wood and leaves but it is the newly formed adults, still in their pupal case that overwinter, so I guess my one is perhaps nearing the end of her days. I suffered complete indecision over which shot to blip, so there's another one as an extra.
Blipping early as Lauren & I are off to a little Halloween party. Its actually Anthony's 14th birthday today but he had friends for a simple sleepover earlier in half term as he decided this year he'd had enough of Halloween themed birthdays. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.