The morning after (Hull)

I have not been this far north (in England) before.

Dave had been given 8 - 18 months and managed just 7. He and Dinah wanted everyday to count and they managed this as best as he could.

The Chapel was heaving - I guess when a person dies many years before they should, more friends are alive to attend their funeral. Dave's friends did not hold back in their grief and I had to look away to compose myself. I wont go into detail, but their "Goodbyes" were like nothing I have seen before. Maybe it's a "Northern" thing.

The wake was a big party and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Poor Dinah was exhausted. We booked a restaurant for 8pm which meant we could whisk her away and bring an end to the party.

Phil, Lou, Oli and I managed an hour to go for a walk before dinner. The Harbour and Quay look wonderful at night and Humber was huge, dark and dramatic.

Anyway, I woke with a thumping headache. I am not sure how much I drank but we finished off last night with Dinah's favourite Cocktail (Gin, Champagne and Elderflower cordial) 

Oli had to open the Skatepark this afternoon so we left Hull early. It rained all the way home.

Clive and I had tickets for Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse at the Colston Hall in Bristol in the evening. Thoroughly enjoyable.

I spent nine hours in a car today. Slept like a log.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.