All These Things...

By Joestockdale

Haweswater Drizzle

"And time has told me, not to ask for more. Someday our ocean
will find its shore." Time has told me- Nick Drake.

I drive out to Haweswater, it seems this place has it's own atmosphere, everywhere else seems to be keeping dry. You can see the rain and clouds above Haweswater from miles around, so I headed up there because I thought I could try and capture some more atmospheric shots and test out my new lens, the Nikkor 28-300mm (so much coverage, O' so sharp).

See the small island to the right, it's pretty much inhabited by birds as there are no boats allowed on the reservoir. A few million years ago and a couple of million after the meteor hit and wiped out the dinosaurs, there was a time when giant flightless birds ruled the earth. A similar thing could be said about this island, lost in time to the wilderness and cruel talons of our feathery overlords. Terrifying, most definitely a place I would not like to visit.

For this shot I had to take two photos as I couldn't frame the top of the tree. In Photoshop I increased the canvas size to fit the top of the tree and then used the clone tool to get rid of any unfitting detail in the sky, as to gently blend it together.

I've also uploaded a new album of photos from Haweswater to my Blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.