Portrait of my Dad

Down to Croydon for the weekend to shop, cook and keep an eye on Mum as Dad is going to a DID conference abroad tomorrow.

As a diabetic there has been much recent difficulty about my Mum's insulin dosages, her blood sugars have been way too high, so with her eating more, the doses have been gradually increased.  However, I arrived at lunchtime today, an hour later than expected, and she was covered in a thin film of cold sweat (having a hypo), but she hadn't been able to communicate anything of this to Dad, and was just confused.  It was only when I hugged a greeting that I could see and feel that something was wrong. They had waited for me to arrive so we could eat lunch together with disastrous consequences.   

We made Mum drink OJ (full of sugar) and eat lunch and gradually she was then OK, but slept for most of the afternoon.

Here is Dad, in the living room with the sun on his face and all the photos of his grandchildren on the shelf behind.

He's got a lot on his plate atm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.