Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Stage-lit?

I was persuaded to try a new app on my phone - ProHDR. It's not suitable for any photograph involving movement, as you have to stand stock still holding the phone absolutely still while it analyses the scene and then takes two photos one after the other. The end result is an amalgam of both. This is what I used to take this photo, and I've been working out what is going one in it.

Primarily it's as if there was stage lighting being used, coming from behind the camera. This photo was taken after the sun had gone down behind the hill in the background, and is yet another picture of the pond in Benmore Gardens, where the red tree is in fact extremely vivid. I've found some of my post-sunset photos a tad disappointing because of the lack of differentiation of colours I was seeing as intense, and this certainly does away with that; the colours here are more or less as I was seeing them only they are illuminated in such a way as not to leach the colour from them.

So - do I like the result? Yes and no. It's quite fun, it makes the most of the wonderful array of colours today, and the sky is perfect. I've not done anything else to the image before uploading it: this is what came first shot. Shall I do it again? Not all the time. It's great for sky and dusk. But I think I'll be letting nature take over again when the novelty wears off ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.