Derelict Sunday - Broken fence

This image is a bit unfair. 

We were at State Flora in the Belair NP, and this would be the only part in the entire place that looks even vaguely derelict.  I would love to have a native garden like the one they have.  It's wonderful.  Masses of birds and flying critters.  I could spend all day there.

A very busy afternoon in our own garden - I have been growing a honeysuckle against a fence for the last umpteen years, and the weight of it is breaking the whole fence down.  And I've just discovered that Lonicera japonica is a declared weed.  The trouble with my garden is that the plants either die, or turn into triffids, and this is definitely a triffid, even though the honey eaters love it.

It's got to go. 

Luckily the Rower agrees with me, but by golly, it's going to be a job.  Once it's all cut down, I'll have to get in there with blackberry poison and paint the cut stems - some of which are as thick as my wrist.  And my wrists are quite substantial.  We've cut it back before, but it's never been as rampant as this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.