BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Leaving Monument Valley

Wow - the combination of two injections and powerful antibiotics knocked me out last night!! Some of the swelling has gone down and I'm sure the redness is going - still itches like a *!%$@*£%^&* though!!

Tonight I am staying in Moab, Utah but want to go to the Four Corners - no medication, a big breakfast and I'm away! The weather is lovely and as I get nearer the state line the sun comes out and it's positively HOT!
By the time I get to the FC it's in the 90's and I'm needing sun tan cream - can't get to that little bit where it's not covered on my back though!!!
The Four Corners is very touristy but I do the obligatory 'foot in the middle' thing while someone kindly takes a photo for me, I don't buy any of the plastic offerings from the gift shops and set off again.

Looking at the map Monument Valley doesn't look too far away .... despite it being in the wrong direction ...... how wrong can I be? It's MILES!!! Hardly any traffic, even fewer gas stations (and the bike has a 3 gallon tank with 50mpg) and it's getting hotter. I find a garage, I find Monument Valley and it was all worth it - I'm seeing what I saw in the westerns on TV back in the 50's and 60's - amazing!
As I am riding away I saw this view in the bike mirror ......

I hit the road northwards with (only) another 150 miles to go ..... stopping for yet more petrol (gas) I see the thermometer there is registering 110 degrees - I thought it was hot! I've even forgotten about my leg!!!! What a fabulous day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.