Views of my world

By rosamund

Star

Today's blip really had to be of Noah.

There were lots of photos so I let him choose which one he wanted on blip.

He settled on the post prom exhaustion clutching trophy look.

He received this award at the leaver's service for being an effective contributor, which means he shows that he has a 'can do' approach to life, the ability not to give up and confidence in his own abilities.

Being a teacher my first question was "Did everyone get one?" as we have just come out of an era where everyone had to get a medal or a prize an no-one could be left out, but now his school have embraced the Curriculum for Excellence and it's ethos of celebrating individual achievements so it's ok to give prizes on merit again to individuals who deserve them. Needless to say I am bursting with pride and just a little gutted that I couldn't be there to see it as I was orchestrating one of the nursery graduations at the time. He didn't know he was getting an award so it was a real surprise with which he was delighted.

I managed to get home early enough to do all the pre-prom running about, he had been invited to go with some friends in a limo with drinks and nibbles served beforehand. They arrived at the school high as kites shrieking "that limo was awesome!" I only managed one shot of Noah on the way in, I had hoped to get a group shot but they all dashed in out the rain to join the party which was already in full swing.

I had gone up to the school to 'help' my friend Mhairi who is on the PTA, we threw some snacks in some bowls and she paid everyone while I mooched about waiting to take photos of my boy, once the last of the children arrived the P7 mums got kicked out so Mhairi and I retired to Flava for a cheeky wee glass of Pinot Grigio before picking the boys up again at 10 o'clock. Noah was soaking with sweat, he had danced all night! He got to collect his trophy and bring it home so here he is, tired but happy with only 4 more hours left of Primary School.

He's not the only one glad that there's only 4 hours left, I don't mind saying it's been a pretty tough year at work, with lots of challenges to overcome. I'm ready for my holidays and looking forward to spending it with my wonderful family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.