CAL vs USC

Let me start by saying I've never before been to a pro football game or a college game, and I don't watch games on TV. I cut my teeth on Pop Warner and graduated to high school games, following the path set by my grandson. But today, because he is now on the CAL Berkeley football team, we were given tickets to an important home game. I was completely unprepared for all the hoopla--the crowds in the streets, the traffic jams, restaurants overflowing, music, people, yellow and blue everywhere. And then there were the fireworks when the team poured out of that golden bear head onto the field. Yes, grandson is out there somewhere, running between the lines formed by the marching bands. The stands were full by the end of the game, bulging with excited students and cheering alums. They lost, but only by six points, and he didn't get to play, but it was a spectacle worth seeing and I was stunned by all the fanfare. I remain puzzled by the concepts of "fans" and "teams" and the rules of football itself, but family is family and the boy worked hard to get where he stands now, so Go Bears!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.