cherish what remains

By clothgirl

neiman marcus

Before you start disgustedly clicking your tongue and making "Needless Markup" jokes, take a look at this: Curating an Art Collection for Neiman Marcus, Walnut Creek

Neiman Marcus, the iconic department store, recently opened a new store in Walnut Creek, California. The wife of a friend of the Mister who was saddled with me for the afternoon took me to see their art collection which she'd read about in the paper. She couldn't tell me enough times that she didn't, would never, couldn't possibly, shop there.

Me, I love the place. I've said before, and I'll say again, if there was a twelve step program for people who are addicted to handbags, I'd have to go. Neiman Marcus sells the good shit. But today it was all, well, mostly, about art. The collection is one of the best I've seen. I would go back tomorrow, and the next day if I could.

Later, after a few glasses of wine, my new friend was heard to say, "There really is a difference between a two hundred dollar purse and a two thousand dollar purse, isn't there?"

So true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.