Proof of life

By csinclair185

Chapel

The Italian Chapel on Lamb Holm, Orkney, is one of the islands' most charming spots. Built during the war by Italian POWs working on the nearby barriers preventing enemy access to Scapa Flow, it is mostly the work of Domenico Chiocchetti and remained unfinished at the end of the war. Chiocchetti returned to Orkney in 1960 to finish his work, a remarkable tale. 

The chapel is yours - for you to love and preserve. I take with me to Italy the remembrance of your kindness and wonderful hospitality. . .
I thank the authorities of Kirkwall, the courteous preservation committee, and all those who directly or indirectly have collaborated for the success of this work and for having given me the joy of seeing again the little chapel of Lambholm where I, in leaving, leave a part of my heart”. - 
Domenico Chiocchetti ­ ­- 11th April 1960.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.