Looking Down the Road Toward Home

The light fades so quickly now in the late afternoons. My day of working at home was over, and my husband and I sped up the hill to the gameland, hoping to take a quick hike under the last of the remaining light.

The foliage colors have mostly faded in the gameland now. There are a few reds along the beaver ponds, reflections of orange pine needles here and there. I hate to see the colors go; it's the last, best tree-party of the year.

We had finished our walk and were heading back down Tow Hill, which is the road we climb to go up to the gameland. From this point in the picture, it's about a five-minute walk down the road toward home.

The sun was behind the trees and I suddenly saw the colors I had been dreaming of laid out before me. Is there any picture that fills the heart with gladness more than that of the road home?

Here is John Denver, with Take Me Home, Country Roads. It's not West Virginia, by a long shot, but it sure looks like heaven to me. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.