litl hikes

By litl

Lily Tarn

I was standing in the kitchen with my bread in the toaster and outside could see hints of blue through the mist.  Deciding that there was a chance of getting some inversion photos I left my husband to do the morning chores while I packed my rucksack and put my boots on.

Down the hill and through the village then up Loughrigg towards Lily Tarn. I climbed out of the mist just after the first steep section and for about 15 minutes enjoyed warm morning sunshine above the inversion (see extra 1). Just as I reached the tarn the mist was closing in again (main blip) and by the time I’d taken half a dozen more photos at the tarn I could hardly see a thing (extra 2). A bit of wandering followed but I decided that it wasn’t worth hanging around any longer so crossed the stile (extra 3) and headed home. 

I appreciated my short time in the sunshine ……… it was grey for the rest of the day.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.