FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

What's your hidden super power?

Watching the first episode of the new US series of Supergirl this evening, I was glued to the screen as I watched Kara evolve from a conscientious office assistant to a disaster-averting hero.

Her destiny was 'to help people' and protect her cousin Kal-El aka Superman (who didn't actually need protecting). Her super human powers allowed her to save the citizens of 'National City' from bank robberies and aircraft disasters as well as kill off an alien villan - gripping stuff.

The DC comic book heroine has been brought into 2015 with a media mogul boss that nods towards Meryl Steep's 'Miranda' in the Devil Wears Prada thanks to her cutting remarks and her 'fetch me a lettuce wrap!' demands.

Corny one-liners, perfectly coiffed blonde locks and immaculate make up are slightly cringeworthy but the fight scenes were almost good enough to rival a cinematic version.

It got me thinking about hidden super powers. My friend said I'm like a breath of fresh air after a stressful day, funnily enough another friend said the same recently. Maybe my power is to bring calm and a listening ear in times of trouble?

What I do know is the power of determination, willpower and stamina are what get me through a heavy workload on these dark winter days. And like every superhero a spot of flying now and again is good for the spirit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.