Drink to me only....Sharm

It’s surreal: I am swimming in the Red Sea in water warm as a bath, towards the sun setting over the Sinai mountains. It should be a magical moment.
 
Except …hard rock music is coming from one end of the beach,  very loud pop music from the other and two mullahs, again at opposite end of the beach are vying with each other calling folk to prayer.
 
OK  I have a low tolerance level of noise.
 
The straw that broke the camels back i.e. my tolerance happened this afternoon when I had just settled down with my Kindle for a few hours reading when a young duo set up their stage complete with loudspeakers and tannoy a few yards from my sun lounger.
 
I got up and left. So did others nearby.
The singers watched us go and were genuinely puzzled.  Bu we had already been subjected to several hours of unwanted music and their arrival well…. sorry but enough is enough.
 
M. meanwhile had gone off snorkelling from a beach at another hotel. (See extra photo of fish - sorry internet problems  i.e. no access - photo will be loaded tomorrow.) He says it was even worse there.
 
Russian pop music was blasted out from several tannoys and it was a tiny beach with no possible escape.
 
Blip photo -one guy  enjoys his sundowner in the sea under the setting sun.
 
Maybe I should have downed a few vodkas then I too would  have been oblivious to the noise, a suggestion made to me by another guest.
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.