Brothers Water

Our original plan had been to walk up to Grisedale Tarn - but with a race on & torrential rain I decided me & pooch would wander round Brothers Water* and take advantage of the tree cover to stay relatively dry. However this plan only worked for one of us...
...unlike Chloe of this parish, our Pushka has never been all that bothered by water - she'll go in for a drink - we've seen her lie in the shallows when its hot (well she is from Siberia!) - and frankly I'm fairly sure she's scared of the sea - but today - today as soon as she saw the lake she pulled & pulled until I wandered that way - and in she went - right in - till she had to swim - something I've never ever seen her do through choice - and she did it three times - she's an odd dog!

As you can see it was grim & unispiring so we didn't go far - but it was good to be out.
& no, I've no idea what the rock art is - but I'd like to think it was the work of a happy family enjoying a picnic on the shores on a sunny afternoon.

*Originally called Broad Water until 2 brother drowned in the 19th Century - its also one of only 4 Water's in the Lake District where the rare Schelly (fish) lives, the others all being close by at Red Tarn, Ullswater & Haweswater.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.