The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

No Halloween

I slept quite well on the night train but all too briefly as we were woken up at 5am by some aggressive banging on the cabin door. It was a full half an hour before we arrived but they wanted to sell us some tea and coffee. I sleepily walked back to my hotel (via a quick banh mi) and had to wake up a member of staff to let me in. Luckily no one was in my room so they gave me the key and I was able to go back to bed for a few more hours.

Just as I was leaving for lunch, it started to rain and by the time I was a few minutes away, it turned in to a heavy storm and I was stuck under some shelter for over half an hour before the rain calmed down enough for me to run to get some tasty bún chả.

In the evening, Aimee and I went for some food and then spent some time in the Old Quarter soaking up the atmosphere of Halloween but both too tired to join in, sadly! It's been a while since I haven't celebrated Halloween - I'll have to make sure next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.