People at Work # 6 : : Mister Pickle

I don't know if it is a sign of the times, a comment on our economy, or just another example of youthful enthusiasm that enables "Mr Pickle" to turn up for work on a busy street corner not far from the sandwich shop of the same name. I'm also unable to report on who is actually inside the pickle suit, only that he is there almost every day, jumping around and waving, and that he, or someone else who fits inside the pickle suit, has been out there just about every day for the almost three years since we moved here. 
I can't believe he gets paid enough to make it worth it, but he seems quite energetic. I wonder if there is any evidence to support the idea that a man in a pickle suit on a street corner suddenly reminds a significant number of people that a sandwich at Mr. Pickles is just what they were wanting at that very moment….

I drove past Mr Pickle after a return visit to my new doctor, ostensibly to have my blood pressure checked, but on average, it seems to be fine and we wound up discussing "sleep hygiene" and the price of real estate in Philadelphia,. It seems that if I wake up in the night and can't go back to sleep, I am to get up and do something else until I get sleepy again. Somehow, I don't see how getting out of a warm bed  and doing anything in a freezing house in the middle of the night is going to be conducive to feeling sleepy. Perhaps I'm missing the point, or more likely, the point eludes me….

Somebody must have given the crabby receptionist a lecture on how to conduct herself in a job where dealing with people, often people who are upset, or sick or just not feeling on top of things, because she was positively radiating smiles and goodwill this morning. 

Since everything went so smoothly, I felt a bit cheated of a reason for the Aztek Mocha I had promised myself, butI didn't have much trouble convincing myself to go have one anyway….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.