The old and the new!!

I’ve retrieved an old book in which I used to store recipes when I first got married. One of B’s favourites was Dundee cake, which I used to bake and use as our Christmas cake.

The new is the oven thermometer which I bought yesterday. I’ve had my doubts as to the accuracy of my new cooker (the one that was in the house when we bought it), as the fan oven takes forever to cook things.

A test today was as follows:
Fan oven temp set to 180 degrees thermometer reading 150.
200 degrees registers 170.
240 degrees registers 220!!!
The task for tomorrow is to do the test on the “normal” oven to see if there is a similar discrepancy.

I will decide which oven to use to bake the cake or if they are both way off temperature, I will buy one.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.