Love poem - read on

25 years ago on this date I was walking back to my hotel in Isfahan in the dark - it was about 10 pm. and I had just spent a couple of hours in the Blue Mosque Square.  I was appropriately garbed head to toe, not a hair showed and I thought I fitted in quite well with the locals.  However, there was suddenly a tap on my shoulder and I looked round to find two men behind me, just visible in the meagre lighting from the single street light further up the street.  ''We know you are a tourist'' one said and I cowered thinking I must have done something wrong.  However he continued ' I am the professor of caligraphy at the local university and I wrote this love poem today.  I would like you to have it as a momento of your visit.'  Bless him, he even translated it for me.  I wish he could know now how much I appreciate his gift.  I have tried to find local Iranians who could translate it again for me but it is written in an ancient script and so far I have drawn a blank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.