Sugar rush

4 o'clock in the afternoon and school's out. Cardigan kids descend upon the town's traditional sweetshop 

I didn't have access to one as a young child since the school I attended was some distance away from the nearest village but the local children who went home for dinner would take commissions and return with the Trebor chews (2 for a penny), sherbet dips and liquorice bootlaces as ordered.  Unfortunately I was a picky eater and didn't like liquorice, sherbet, peppermints or pear drops. Aniseed balls seemed very odd  and 'love hearts' were unthinkable. Spangles, Smarties and (especially) Rolos were my favourites. Later on the real triumph was finding a tiny cabin of a sweetshop that sold black bubblegum. I think it may have been liquorice-flavoured but that didn't matter so much as startling grown-ups by bursting black balloon from your lips.

There's a nice sequence of old-fashioned sweets to be seen here including some I had forgotten. Parma violets - yuck!

Photo taken through the window hence reflections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.