GFieldmouse

By GFieldmouse

Lest We Forget

This was the yard at the Manulife building on Bloor.  By the gate there was a sign which read :

Remembering the Fallen. To commemorate Veteran's Week November 4 to 11, 2015.  As a gesture of thanks and remembrance, planted are 11,843 Canadian flags to honour Canada's fallen soldiers since the days of the Boer Wars until present.  These Canadian flags are a tribute to our fallen heroes and their families whose sacrifices will never be forgotten.

My mom and dad were both veterans, and it makes me proud to know that they did their part when they were needed.  Thanks mom and dad and to all the other veterans out there both current and past who give up so much so we can enjoy our freedom.  I know that remembrance day isn't until next week, but today is the day I saw the flags and when I looked at the row upon row of flags to commemorate our fallen soldiers it made me realize just how many men and women made the ultimate sacrifice so that we can enjoy the freedom we have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.