Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Glory at dawn

My presence here has been more sporadic than usual of late because I had a six-day migraine. Finally I woke this morning to find it was gone. What a relief. And this. 

When I have a migraine I cannot tolerate the light of the screen, so there is no possibility of blipping in the midst, but during a long one like that, there are sometimes hours when it is less intense. Yesterday it had dimmed sufficiently that I could go out for a walk, and the walk included passing by the draped corpse of the man who had been killed by police yesterday morning.

Several people commented that they cannot understand the gun thing in the USA. I share your confoundedness. I don't think we CAN understand it. The Washington Post recently published a study of police-involved shootings that resulted in death; there is a website that counts them (yesterday's victim is not yet identified by name, though a witness who saw him before he was killed said the dead man was an "average-size white male"). If you're interested in the connection between slavery in the USA and the "right to bear arms," that is discussed here. But I still don't understand it except as a measure of fear. Fear. And then, after fear, endless suffering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.