Lansdown Hall viewed from Bank Gardens

Yesterday it rained relentlessly so I couldn't photograph some special views of the centre of town from a special viewpoint that I have arranged. I have borrowed a wider angle zoom lens for that purpose so when the sun appeared early this afternoon I decided to use the chance to practice with the lens. I'd wanted to record Lansdown Hall anyway following its recent building works (which haven't quite finished yet), so Helena and I went there on our way to do some shopping.

I'm glad I practiced as it took some time to get the results I wanted using  manual settings, which I will have to do tomorrow when I am high up on an exposed balcony. The constantly changing light today caused me problems as the clouds were scudding across the sky intermittently blocking the sun, whilst sun's low angle introduced lots of shadows from other buildings.

Lansdown Hall is looking really good now after major repairs to the worst of the damaged Cotswold stone which had resulted from many years of leaking gutters and overflowing drainpipes. They have all been replaced with wholly new designs to cope with the conditions. The stone framed rose windows have also had major stone renovation with replacement of the iron frames and the lead work between the glazing. The vertical rear windows you can see looking out onto Bank Gardens are also being completely replaced with modern designs using purpose built stainless steel frames with double-glazed glass fitted into the original shapes of the framework.

I need some pictures to illustrate the reports to the various funding bodies who have contributed to this Phase 3 of the regeneration works.  We have one more major Phase to come so another round of fund raising is about to start. But the  feedback we are getting is really positive and makes all the work we do for the building worthwhile. This is the 'village hall' for the community of Stroud town and it is really coming into its own. I shall be going there next Friday to see Dick Gaughan play which will be an absolute treat for me, having wanted to see him live for many years. Maybe I can blip him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.