Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

British Art Show 8

The British Art Show  is a touring art show, which introduces key modern art to audiences around the country. I called in to see the one in Leeds this morning. 

Some of it was interesting. There was a room where the lights went off, to be replaced by a spotlight, and a voice from the walls encouraging you to do things. There were several films, one which centred on a student group coming to terms with the 'history' of emotional patches, which was a sort of social media, but where you felt the emotions of those you followed. 

This particular work is by Stuart Phipps, and I had permission to take the shot. I'm not entirely sure what I think of it as art, but I liked the strong image and shape. The car, of course, is a Mini, and the piece could be read as a commentary on the British Car industry. Or perhaps that is just my interpretation. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.