AnyOldIron

By AnyOldIron

The Heavens Reflect Our Labours

When i was a kid attending night games at the Old Showground the sky over Scunthorpe would glow bright red as the slag from the steelworks was tipped onto the slag heaps (hence the town motto).

Last month it was announced that 900 steelworkers will be losing their jobs in the latest round of cuts, nearly a quarter of the workforce. Today was Scunthorpe United's chance to show solidarity with Save Our Steel day.

The fans held up phone torches for the first minute of the second half in protest at the job losses and at the government's pathetic response to the death throes of a once great industry.

They say there's not a single person in Scunny who hasn't either worked at the steelworks or isn't related to someone who has. My grandad and his dad, my other grandad and my own mum and dad all worked there.

It's upsetting to watch my hometown dying before my eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.